top of page

How to Write a Resignation Letter

Updated: Jan 31, 2022

A resignation letter is an official document that lets your employer know you are leaving your job and provides a date for your final day. Ideally, you want to submit a formal resignation letter after you have already notified your supervisor about your intent to leave so they’re not caught off guard. Today this would be an email and you can send it to your HR department and cc your boss. What to include in your resignation letter?

Start by listing the title of the job you are officially resigning from, as well as your last day of work. The date should be the exact date you settle on with your manager before you submit your letter. Depending on your job responsibilities you can also include how you will assist in the transition process (what you will have completed and what you will leave for your team as well as the person that will eventually come in behind you).


Resignation Letter Examples and Templates

Dear [Name], I am writing to submit my formal resignation as a Mechanical Engineer at [Company]. As discussed my last day in this position will be December 31, 2021. Next, offer to assist with the transition process

Continue your resignation letter by offering to help your current employer with the transition process. Some tasks you can offer to help with include:

  • Creating a list of responsibilities for your job with instructions on how to complete each one and where these are located

  • Handing off important documents and information

  • A summary of what has been completed and what will need to be completed on projects still on going

Your offer to help might look something like this:

To ease the transition after my departure, I am happy to assist you with any project tasks during my final weeks on the job. I intend to leave thorough instructions and up-to-date records for my replacement. or

I plan on wrapping up as many projects as possible throughout this transitional period. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do to assist in making this change as smooth as possible.

Express your appreciation


In this part of the letter, you want to express your gratitude for your current employer. For example, say thank you for any opportunities you’ve had to grow as a professional. You could highlight new skills you learned or specific mentors who offered you career advice throughout your time with the company. The goal is to let your employer know that you appreciate the time you spent at the organization, even if you’re leaving under less-than-ideal circumstances. Example:

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the knowledge and experience I have gained by working here. I am very grateful for the time I have spent on our team and the professional relationships I've built.




12 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page